Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Two bridges

(Whey hey! Caught up with over a week's worth of back-blips this morning. Feel as if my life is back on track, although I don't expect that to last long.)

Our Wednesday walk with Cumbernauld & Kilsyth Ramblers was at Almondell and Calderwood Country Park in West Lothian, a place I don't ever recall visiting before. And a very good walk it was too.

From the car park and visitor centre, the main series of paths in Almondell follows the route of the River Almond, crossing various bridges along the way. Once into the Calderwood part of the park, the paths follow the mode densely-wooded routes of Murieston Water and Linhouse Water.

Our own route took us on a loop out of the park and up the grassy slopes of Oakbank bing from where one can get a great view north towards Livingston and beyond, out towards the Forth Bridges. The weather was kind, sunny and not too hot, so we had our picnic lunch on top of the hill.

Almondell & Calderwood Country Park is certainly a place to which I'll return, and I expect that will be sooner rather than later. I'd quite like to explore it a bit on my own and have the time to stop and take photos, which isn't always possible when out with a group of walkers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.