Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Work in progress

A while back I mentioned that one of my 'retirement' projects was writing a history of West Coast Motors of Campbeltown.  


'...I can understand why they chose to omit the fleets lists - they are a nightmare to research!  For many years now West Coast Motors have given their vehicles 'cherished numbers' instead of fleet numbers.  So you get instances of a new vehicle receiving it's Argyll and Bute 'SB' registration number, then it receives a WCMxxx registration.  Upon being sold it gets its old number back or an appropriate 'age related' registration.  That WCM number then goes onto another vehicle.  Some vehicles have carried three or four different numbers in their 12-15 year life and some WCM registrations have been on 2 or 3 different vehicles.  Are you still with me?'...

I've moved on a little bit with the research, enough to put a few pages together.  It's one of those types of research that the more I find out, the more I realise how much I don't know.  Really enjoying it but it takes a long time before anything comes together.  I suppose that's why the book published two years ago had so little fleet detail.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.