Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Day 105: - Throwback Thursday - Bedsit Land

In honour of my son's first foray into the world of private rented property tomorrow, this is my first bedsit. 

I arrived in Ilford with half a day to find somewhere to live and no money for a deposit. As I stood despairingly in the queue for a public telephone looking at the rental ads in the newspaper, a man approached me and asked if I needed somewhere to stay. I went with him and rented a room in his house - miraculously he turned out only to be slightly weird, a small amount of flashing was all I had endure. Not really a recommended way to find somewhere to live though. 

I have tried to explain to my kids the joys of cooking in the same room you sleep in. They don't get it!

I had a lot of fun there, my first taste of freedom although I was absolutely skint the whole time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.