WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Evening out

Today was the annual presentation of the programme at the Centre Culturel, just down the road from us. It's always an enjoyable evening, and tonight was no exception. It starts with a presentation of all the shows with short video extracts to give you a taster. The marquees spoiling this photo are for the massive bunfight that follows. There are always about 300 people, and the supply of sophisticated little canapes never runs out. This evening there were a couple of planchas where delicious little kebabs were being prepared -- lots of jockeying for position as they came off the grill. It was all very delicious and along with a glass of wine helped to console me for the fact that when I weighed myself this morning after managing to stick to my diet for most of the week, I'd put on 100 grams since last week. I know it's not much, but I was still disappointed.

Anyway, after the bunfight we were treated to just about the most bonkers show I've ever seen, by les Chiche Capon. I can't really describe it but a flavour is given by the fact that one member of the cast, naked except for a jock strap and giant phallus made of tinfoil, ended up clambering up the raked seats over the shoulders of the audience, squirting some kind of powder out of his appendage, while his colleague followed, whacking anyone in the way with a bendy stick. I think if they didn't have this outlet for their madness, all four of them would end up in a mental hospital. Here's a taster for those who understand French, but you had to be there really -- we laughed till we cried. Very therapeutic!

As you can see, the weird clouds are still with us. I liked the reflections in the glass, but the tents do spoil it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.