JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Can you see the peregrine?

No, nor can I, but there is one perched at the top of the cathedral tower. I didn't know this at the time I took this photo of Derby Cathedral for today's blip. After taking the photo I walked a bit closer to the cathedral and noticed that the group of people you can just see in the photo were all set up with telescopes pointing at the top of the tower.

It turned out they are from the local nature trust's peregrine watch. I took a look through one of their scopes and got a fine view of an adult peregrine perched on the tower and its two young on the roof of a nearby building. Apparently peregrines have been breeding here for seven years.

So twice in one week I have found good reasons why I'll want to cart my serious camera kit with me on one of my Derby work days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.