Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Fast? It's relative

It's a gorgeous day, so I figured I'd find something in the park for Missymoo's challenge today - FAST - kids or dogs running, skateboarders, frisbee tossers, the usual.

Then this scene presented itself. Two young men came to play some one-on-one basketball and wheeled their grandma in to watch the scene. They spent a long time finding just the right spot for her, where she was warm enough but the sun wasn't in her eyes. I loved the sweet interactions between them and that they were concerned with her comfort. One looked in his early twenties, the other maybe late teens.

Speaking from my own experience of limited mobility, speed is a relative thing. Before I had my scooter, it would take me twenty minutes or more to walk around the block, if I could even make it that far. Now, with scooter, I go much faster than most pedestrians, and Liza is thrilled because she gets to run in front or beside me instead of poking along at a turtle's pace. But that's the exception -- it takes me a long time to get from Point A to Point B; I can't run anymore, or even walk fast. I have learned to appreciate being attentive to every moment whilst moving (otherwise, I risk falling).

This woman watched her grandsons run around the basketball court, watched other children run through the park, and young mothers chase after them or, as in the background here, push their young ones on the merry-go-round. I wonder what she was thinking, especially when I noticed her hands in a sort of echo movement to the young mother's. Was she remembering playing with her children in the park so many decades ago?

More examples of today's fast ones in a slideshow here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.