My confusing day...

...a dandelion seed head actually...those last twinkling lights of brains cells have gone skywards...

I was out for the day after having bought some wools and materials. On the way home I come across a church hall selling crafts and stuff. So I thought I would stop and go in.

As soon as I get through the door people are greeting me..."hello Jenny"..."hi Jenny"...

A blank look on my face. And other people are greeting me as though they know me using my name...

I do NOT have Alzheimer's.
I do NOT have Dementia.
So how come all these people know me?????

I am praying I do not have a blank look on my face, but I am in a rickety wooden church hall of about 16 people who are serving tea and cake and are manning the crafts...no customers at this point, just muggins here who was wishing she had driven straight home at this point.

I am seriously beginning to doubt myself...

Then two customers walk in...and I am looking at the woman thinking where on earth have I seen her before...and I know it is not in the last few years...I just knew that...

I felt I should buy something because I didn't want any of their craft items, so I decide to have a cup of tea and cake before I go home then I won't have to make anything when I get home.

And a lady I do not know brings out a pot of tea and says "There you are Jenny. Which cake would you like?"

My face is still saying who on earth are you? It is so unnerving in a room full of strange people all who seem to know you and about you.

I feel like I am on a planet where everyone has the same name, and then you can greet all and sundry with total confidence and assurance you do not have the wrong name.

But it confused me totally...

Then a couple of the tea ladies came over to me and sat at my table and we were talking as though we sit every day chatting over a cuppa.

I gave in, I chatted as though I knew them. Then one of them said, "what's that thing you did Jenny?"

My brain is going into overdrive at this point and it is saying please don't use my name any more and not in nearly every sentence.

"You know Jenny, the thing you did?" She repeats and looks at her friend. And her friend says "oh yeah, the thing she did. The thing that whatshername brought in to show us". And the other one says "yes whatshername. You know whatshername Jenny?".

I came to the conclusion at this point I am not on planet earth....I landed somewhere else for the afternoon...

I certainly don't have anywhere left to root in my brain at this point.

I was rescued by the lady, who had come in with her husband presumably, the lady I thought I remembered from long ago. She came up to me "are you...I can't remember your name, but aren't you..." She left that sentence dangling in the air.

I reply, "erm I know we haven't seen each other in at least a few years..." Then one of the tea ladies said "have you finished your tea Jenny?" "Jenny! That's your name! Didn't you used to go to...." Blank face from me as the name she said escaped me.

Then she gave me her name...a slow dawning from me...I had met her many years ago... SEE I DO HAVE A MEMORY! Maybe only one cell left...

Now excuse me while I go and lie down........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.