Jeskyns Country Park

This was once a large farm which was put on the market in 2005, following the death of its owner. The guide price for the land was between £1.1 million and £1.3 million.  As one of John Prescott's last acts as the head of the Office of Deputy Prime Minister, money from the ODPM's sustainable communities fund was given to the Forestry Commission to buy the land and turn it into a community woodland.  However when tractors ploughed up the arable crop fields, with them went around 60 nests full of newly-born skylarks and their eggs.   A Forestry Commission spokesman later admitted that the ploughing was an "operational misjudgement which we regret".  The park is still a bit new and there are some interesting sculptures.  If I had had my phone with me during my orienteering course I would not have had to go back with my camera afterwards.
The choice of courses for today's orienteering was either too long or too short for me. (Blue or Light Green for any orienteers reading this). I opted for the Blue ( long)  but it was a lovely sunny day so I walked round as quickly as I could (just inside 2 hours). Total tally on the pedometer is 17,538 paces.  Ready for feet up and a glass of wine.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.