briocarioca

By briocarioca

Practical ethics and other things

Uhhh –very little sleep last night.  The physio told HH it was fine for him to go upstairs and to sleep on the waterbed. Big mistake…. the waterbed is low, and difficult for someone in HH’s condition to get in and out of. And then it wobbles….anyway, it was a very long night.
 
Haven’t been out of the house today, though Chiara and HH went out for a couple of walks and we have pushed, persuaded and sometimes bullied him into doing some exercises (not enough) and tried to prevent him from spending too many hours at the computer. Difficult, when the man’s as obstinate as a mule (runs in his family!). Anyway, for lack of other inspiration, my photo is of one of the document open on my computer screen. Towards the end of the day, our younger daughter sent me the link, here, to a video that seems to fit in somehow with Peter Singer’s message.
 
When not in the kitchen or nagging HH, I worked on my translation. I’ve already been given an extra month in which to do it, but that must be running out and I’m not halfway through yet. It’s a fascinating subject, though, a dissertation based on the Australian philosopher, Peter Singer’s, views on the relative value of human life and the life of non-human animals. My sympathy lies with him, but the dissertation will almost certainly aim to refute them (I haven’t reached that point yet), from a Christian viewpoint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.