Two curlers

I spent the morning in the Botanic Garden in Glasgow and later visited a few places open under 'Doors Open Day'. The Partick Curling Club has its headquarters in Victoria Park and a kind gentleman called Peter showed me around, explained the game and told me the history. The curling 'pond' adjacent to the pavilion last froze in the winter of 2010.

I persuaded him and a friend, against their better judgement,  to pose by the pavilion, flanking the old toilet seat which they bring out to amuse the kids. Including me, it seems!

I went on to see the Greyfriars Garden in Shuttle Street, off Ingram Street, where local people have permission to use a demolition site to grow vegetables in large boxes until such time as the developers move in. The garden sits on the site of a medieval Franciscan Friary. I had a look in the old British Linen Bank building next door too, where a charming young woman told me its history.

My extra picture is of a palm frond silhouetted against the glass of the glasshouse at the Botanics.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.