All Ireland Day

I love the fact that, as in rugby, though the fans are fervent and loyal, there is no hatred or animosity between groups of fans.

I was outside Fagan's in Drumcondra when these lads arrived on their horse and cart. There are only a very small number of Kerry fans about as their Minor team (under 18s) were playing in a final when I took the photo and their county men were already in the grounds to support them.

The flags of both counties festoon the pub because both sets of fans are equally welcome and mix well as there is mutual, earned respect...as it should be.

Dublin won the match well though the scoreline and my high heart rate would not suggest it. I'll be in Dublin to celebrate with the Dublin team at 8am in the morning as I know where they'll be. Looking forward to that....just saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.