FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Chocks Away!

This weekend's fly out to France was my last full on aviation weekend of this year's summer flying season. Next weekend is the official last display of the season for the Turbs but as it's a private event with no PA system my commentary is not required. That said the weather forecast is pretty bleak with rain this week so I'm not too hopeful it will go ahead.

The weekend in Abbeville reminded me why I took up flying six years ago. The opportunity to take to the air and see sights that otherwise I'd not experience and to share flying stories and camaraderie with flying club friends from both sides of the Channel was such a pleasure.

After three solid months of air show ground crewing, commentary and volunteering, on top of starting a new PR job and I'm pretty worn out.

I almost stayed at home this weekend feeling that a weekend on my sofa and sorting my laundry is what I 'should' do to rest however my Turb crew boys persuaded me to go along on the trip claiming they'd miss me and I'm so glad they did!

A spot of flying, lots of banter about aviation antics, good food, French wine and most of all meeting new and old friends was just what I needed to recharge the batteries - in the spiritual sense at least. Feeling rather pooped physically after lots of travelling but feeling revived in all other ways.

This Blip photo was taken by my new aviation pal Jean-Marie who plans to join us at some air show practices next year in his Turbulent aircraft and hopefully the odd fly out and show too. In the meantime I've been promised some French lessons...un geste très gentil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.