PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

When I went down for the paper this morning

All the village newspapers are brought through from Appleby each morning and placed in a purpose-made wooden box in the bus shelter*. Then we all go down to collect them, although there are a couple of stalwarts who deliver batches of them to the far ends of the village.

I walked down this morning and this is what I found in the roof of the shelter. I presume it's the nest of either a swift or martin a House Martin, but I may very well be wrong and my resident bird expert is working away today, so apologies if this is misinformation. Perhaps someone could put me right. Around eight o' clock every school morning the shelter is full of noisy young people gathering for the school bus, but obviously the birds decided that was worth putting up with in order to have a nice sheltered site.

It is extremely windy here today and we also have rain. The sunshine didn't last long did it!

*Don't let the phrase bus shelter lead you to thinking that we have a bus service. We don't. Well at least we have one bus a week to Penrith market and I don't think that can be described as a bus service. The shelter was built mainly for the children.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.