Chamois Leather - Oh No!

My Mum had a chamois leather for cleaning windows. If only she had known what a beautiful animal it came from! It is the hunting season, sadly, so the chamois are on high alert. They must have seen the restaurants advertising "la chasse" which can be: chamois, venison, wild boar or even bouquetin. Each animal has a couple of weeks when they must hide from the hunters so I was lucky to see 28 in a herd today. The hunters say it is to keep the stock healthy and they only shoot the animals that are sick or injured and never females with young (see extra). What a beautiful walk I had, off the beaten track which is where I love to be. On the way back down from Anxeindaz, I was with the massive herd of 300+ cows which was descending to Solalex. What a spectacle, the Swiss Wild West in action (second extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.