Story Telling #2

A different day, a different experience.

A very blipped photograph by me over the last few years.  Though every time up is a different story.

Such beautiful weather, beautiful light, beautiful air.  I love September.

The ride up today was one of the fastest ever even though I haven't been on the bike for nearly two weeks and feeling still somewhat clogged up with a head cold.  ...I wasn't alone outside either.  Lots of people were out enjoying the weather and busier than I have ever seen.  Just at the point I was thinking how well it was going, somebody rode by me climbing fast out of the saddle and showing no strain at all.  ha! 

Leaving from this curve, I played tag with another older cyclist until the summit.  I passed him, then he passed me back.  To which I replied somethink like, "sweet victory".  Then ensued some friendly banter for the rest of the way to the top... some of which...

him, "not bad for an old man, I've already climbed 6000 meters this week.  I'm 71, but turn 72 in a few weeks so I just tell everyone that I'm 71."
me, "lucky you, I'm 47 and I can hardly manage to make it out twice a week at lunch if I'm lucky to get a quick 25 km's in..."
him, "you shouldn't be here then"
me, (thinking, oh crap what a come back!) "oh well, I do what I have to do.  I have two young children and in my career."
him, "if I can do it at 71 then you can surely.  I'm an industrialist, you know?  I still work 10-12 hours a day, do you believe me?  And I manage and am responsible for more than 300 people."
me, "holy cow!"
 him, "nearly, I own a meat packing company making prosciutto.  we do everything from the farm up?"
me, "holy cow!  oops, I mean holy pig!"

Really nice guy.  And not bad for someone in his prime!!!  I blew the socks off him on the descent though.  I always win when it comes to speed.  I stopped midway down to take some pictures and waited several minutes on him to catch up.  He was nice to slow down and ask if I need anything.  I just smiled and held up the camera.  I wish I had his email to send a picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.