Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Praying...

I am amazed that I nearly didn't see this huge Chinese Mantid today - it was hanging upside down at the top of some Joe Pye Weed and when I first saw the shape, I thought it was some sort of seed pod.  It wasn't until I looked closer by bending the top of the plant down that I realized this huge gal was there.  When I say huge .. between 3.5 - 4 inches.  If I wasn't such a wuss, I would have tried to coax her onto my hand for a photo.  But, I was afraid I'd start screaming and embarrass myself.  Better safe than humiliated.  Some nature photographer I am ...

It was an excellent macro day and I ended up taking around 250 pictures on my walk.  Seems like I was stopping every 3 feet, so I can't say that I got any aerobic value from the walk, but I did manage to get in a couple of miles.  And maybe I get extra credit for lugging along a camera??  Maybe not...

Anyhoo, if you want to see some other interesting creatures, I posted 7 photos on Flickr, starting HERE with another shot of the mantis.

More monarchs in the garden today, and still a couple of hummers.  Lots of baby goldfinches following their parents around demanding to be fed.  And I am pretty sure the cardinals have managed a late brood as I'm certain I heard babies begging - cardinal babies really don't sound like anything else.  Catbirds are still skulking around in the pokeweed, gobbling the berries.  

Long chat with my parents this morning, which was great.  And sorted through my photos from the christening yesterday so need to send those over to my niece and nephew.  Happy that I managed to get a few good shots.  I'm never very confident taking people photos, especially indoors where i have to use flash.  

Happy Monday, people...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.