PAIN

This is one of my birthday presents. The infamous foam roller that is supposedly good for you in the most masochistic way possible.

The scientific term is "self myo-fascial release" or SMR. The fact that the abbreviation is similar to another masochistic term is vaguely worrying but I will put that down to just pure coincidence.

I use it for my calves which are like knots most of the time as a result of all the running I have done over the years.

For the uninitiated, basically you put your calf muscle on the roller with the other leg on top, take your weight on your hands in a seated position and roll back and forward on the roller putting pressure on the tight tender spots in the calf muscle.

It is agony... the worrying thing is that I sort of enjoy the self inflicted pain... and if it keeps me running, I will continue to endure it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.