Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

Cavtat - Day 7

A fascinating morning today. The Parentals caught the bus with me to Mlini, where I left them to go and find the derelict hotels I'd seen from the boat on Tuesday.

Hands down the most surreal and creepy place I have ever been to. A former holiday complex for Croatian military and their families, the resort at Kupari was destroyed in 1991, during the war. For the last 24 years it's been decaying and recently, families have started returning to swim and sunbathe at its beach. It was so strange to see families enjoying the water and the sunshine surrounding by the hulking masses of these hotels. The whole place is open - no barriers, boarded up windows or fences - and looked to be incredibly dangerous.

According to the stories I heard, the clinic and doctor's house were destroyed first so that casualties couldn't be treated - this blip was taken inside what I think was the doctor's house.

I only had the Lumix with me and the sun was very bright, so the photos are more "snaps" than "photos" but I've put more here if anyone wants to see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.