TinyTuesday : Love and Pride

Mum and Dad were never wealthy, but they did teach me to give to charity - a few coins would rattle into the collecting tin for any good cause.
Having served in the war, both as wireless operators in the RAF/WAAF, they were supporters of the Royal British Legion. Dad even took part in one of the Festival of Remembrance events at the Royal Albert Hall, proudly wearing his Royal Auxiliary Air Force uniform, back in the days of black and white television.
Now they're both gone, some of their money has bought me this little poppy pendant.
It's very special.
Why ? Because the poppy is cast in duralumin, a metal recovered from Spitfire P7350, which actually took part in the Battle of Britain.
Sold by and in aid of the Royal British Legion, it's my own tiny piece of history.

 ( And the title's an 80s favourite I haven't heard for ages ).

Edited to add - when I was at an airshow in August and saw a Spitfire flying a display with a Typhoon jet fighter, I actually saw the very aeroplane which once housed the metal for the poppy. Magic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.