Tiny Tuesday

I spent the morning on the phone to my accountant and my Super fund Australia trying to work out my options as I am retiring as of next Monday. I guess I have been retired for some time but it is now official. I have resigned from my job in Melbourne (from which they allowed me to take extended leave) and from the Ultrasound registration board and the various professional bodies. A big step and a bit of an anticlimax as there was no fanfare, no send off party or well wishes from colleagues as would normally accompany a retirement. It still feels good, though. If I had stayed in Australia I probably wouldn't have retired until I was 70! I miss the work but I am finally feeling settled into my life in Austria so it is a bit of a luxury to think I never have to drag my self out of bed for work again (I am not a morning person). 
This afternoon I visited BIL and listened to him talk about beer for an hour. He has a theme each day and will talk to everyone about it and will not diverge from the theme when you try to change the subject. I think he knew who I was when I arrived but then talked to me as though I was one of his work mates. Apparently he is more lucid in the mornings when he is fresh so we will start to visit him earlier in the day from now on. 
I then drove to a girlfriend's for coffee and some normal conversation (and in English) then found this tiny duck feather floating in the lake nearby. Thanks to freyjad for hosting TinyTuesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.