Mostly looking North

By Mostlynorth

Triple peel

Final day of the Malmet. I had a bye first thing so coffee with mum in Broomhill en route to Kelvingrove. Arrived to see Joe beat Brian by a single hoop. It meant the pressure was off.

My first game was against Hamish. He started well but broke down around hoop 4. I took my first ball to 4 back. He didn't get going from my leave and I was in again with my second ball. With good pioneers at 3b and 4b, I pushed my partner ball pivot up to 4b to set up a peel. Peeled 4b, got a lovely rush on it to penult, peeled penult, ending up perfectly in the jaws of the hoop. I could feel the nerves tingle as I rushed partner ball to rover. I got the peel and again ended up perfectly in the jaws. Don't muck up now, I thought. And I didn't. My first ever triple peel. Hamish and most of the rest were delighted for me. I was ******* chuffed.

It meant the last game against Brian was not the decider it might have been. But it was fun and very close. Only one in it at the end, with me pegging out my forward ball and then Brian narrowly missing a long roquet attempt in the time turn.

Got back to Edinburgh in time to catch up with Alan, Jane, Campbell and Martin in Cloisters. They'd been there for a couple of hours and were jolly and merry. And they'd watched the scores coming in over the weekend from Kelvingrove. They merrily congratulated me and told me all the gossip from the weekend from the meadows. And they said my triple was a straight triple. And then we had another pint and a whiskey and gossiped some more.

Most definitely a good day.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.