Life through the lens...

By ValC

Last of the Summer Wine.

The vineyard above Holmefirth, which is where they filmed Last of the Summer Wine.
The Longest-running sitcom in the world.
Written by Roy Clarke. The first episode was January 4th 1973, and the last episode August 29th 2010.

As you know, I am a proud Yorkshireman, or rather lady, and also love a glass or two of wine! 
So a fitting photo, I think, for my 4th Blip Birthday.
 ( Although  have missed a blip or two here and there along the way.)

It was freezing cold for our visit this morning.
An early Christmas present from my dear sister and brother-in-law!
Although they had been before, we got lost!
Eventually found it by stopping to ask someone.
(Satnav got it wrong too!!)
As M&D had done the vineyard tour before, they stayed inside in the warm cafe, while we froze out in the vineyard!
However it was a very interesting tour and talk.
We could see by the grapes that this was not going to be a good year.
They have lost half the crop due to bad weather at flowering time, and the rest of the grapes haven't grown very big, and are not ripening properly. 
Picking will start next week.
It was nice to get inside, and eventually taste the white wine and two roses which had been bottled last year.
Quite light and floral/apple tasting. Only 11% alcohol.
A little expensive, we thought, at £14.99 a bottle.
( No purchases made!)
Holmefirth Vineyard website

A lovely bowl of hot homemade vegetable soup, and a big bowl of chips, at the Jacob's Well pub in Honley , on the way home soon warmed us up!

Now I would like to say a big thank you to all of you for your kind comments, stars and hearts over the years. I have made such wonderful friends both real, and virtual.
 I never thought it would give me so much pleasure and enjoyment.
Sharing happy times and sad with you all.

109 followers, and 143,637 views.
Apparently I average 7 entries a week,     146 words per entry,    1 tag per entry.
I have geotagged 8% entries and travelled 12.3k miles. ( not sure what that means)
Other statistics show what cameras I have used .
One entry using an AppleiPhone which I don't remember.
Many thanks to all at Blip Central for collecting all this data.This is the first time I have actually looked at it, but won't be the last.

Only a few months ago I didn't think we would all be still here.
So glad Blip managed to carry on.
It is now a part of my life, I would be very sad to loose.

So I raise a glass to you all!
Long may Blip continue, and THANK YOU everyone. x
See Extra Photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.