Aud stuff

By X5AUD

Memories are made of this

I was at St Aloysius Church in Garnethill, Glasgow for a performance of Bach's St Matthew Passion. It was the finale performance conducted by my former music teacher before he retires. A night for many memories. 6 years at the school, 25 years since I left, but it has been much more of a formative influence than I could ever have imagined.

Liam was one of a few inspirational teachers I was lucky enough to learn from. A wicked sense of humour, a healthy disregard for authority and lots of fun at the orchestra and the classes made him very popular with the pupils. Of course, I now realise that he wasn't nearly as old as we thought he was; when we left school he was younger than I am now. And there were the orchestra trips to Nunraw Abbey, Germany and Italy. We even played some decent concerts.

Fortunately; what happens on tour, stays on tour. Many tales to tell, but it wasn't all fun and nonsense. I also left with a Higher Music, an ability to play violin, double bass and guitar to varying degrees, a short-lived career as a page-turner for pianists and a greater understanding and love of music. Good times! Thanks, Liam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.