What The Blip!

By JebusBlips

Start Line Or Bust

The Bournemouth Marathon is 10 days away and prior to that I have a week in the Forest of Dean to relax.

With all that in mind I wanted to bank a 10-12 miler today before dialling the activity right down and resting the legs.

All was going well until, running hard on a constant incline at mile 5, I felt something ping in my left calf muscle bringing me to a stop. There was some mild discomfort but I convinced myself it was nothing and I tried to start running again.

Bad idea. Run scratched, I hobbled to the nearest bus stop to head home. On the bus I had a minor panic and messaged _JoannaBanana_ who is running Bournemouth too. Turns out she also aggravated an old injury in her latest run and so we joked about taking turns to push each other in a wheelchair around the course in 10 days. Her Blip today is hilarious and you can check it out here.

I made myself feel better later with some retail therapy at the Nike Outlet Store near Enfield. I picked up a nice running jacket that was reduced from £200 to £75.

My other purchase was some Ibuprofen for their anti inflammatory properties on Jo's recommendation. It may be psychosomatic but I have to say the calf feels much better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.