A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Family Ties.

This is St. Paul's Parish Church, Deptford, it claims to be one of England's finest Baroque Churches. It was consecrated in 1730.

I found it by chance. I was in Deptford High Street dropping my family off at a florist. Opposite is Hamilton Street, now modern flats, where in 1908 my maternal grandmother was born. I thought I'd do some family skeleton hunting.

The church was just around the corner and I grabbed this shot.

When I got home I checked my records and Ancestry to see if my grandmother had a record of baptism. At first I found her older sister had been baptised in the church. 

Through BMD I found that my grandmother had been baptised there but a new piece of information was revealed. We had always celebrated her birthday on the 3rd September. She was shown baptised on the 18th August, born on the 4th...

This isn't a total surprise to me. When she was 2 years old her mother died leaving 10 children. The younger ones were shipped out to other families and my grandmother ended in Custom House, north of the river with a new unofficial name. Maybe that's when she got a new birthday too.

My Morris Minor Traveller is named after my grandmother. Matilda was her real name. She grew up and was known by everyone as Sue.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.