Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

Lakehouse

In York today for a meeting. It was something of a comedy of errors:



An animal was hit by a train first thing morning, causing all manner of delays on the East coast route which caused 2 people to be late and 1 to abandon.


My train got diverted "don't panic when we pull out of the station backwards"


The bus route had changed and I was trapped in a labyrinth of a housing estate for at least 15mins


The coffee didn't turn up


The venue was a lake house "pod" which was beautiful but we kept getting buzzed by RAF helicopters, had swans staring in the window and coots bobbing about sounding like squeaky toys.



The pub York had booked for lunch didn't have our reservation and was full


The pub we ended up in was shambolic and got most people's orders wrong and my jacket spud was tiny and tasteless


There was an accident in York and the taxi to station (paid for by Durham) had to do a detour


Oh and my estate agent rang in the meeting to say my buyer wants me to pay for a full electrical safety test of the house because I don't have a safety certificate from the guy who did my kitchen 6 years ago. Even though the only leccy stuff he did was put new fronts on sockets and fit the integral cooker.


Hurray for yoga. And wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.