Nellie Travels

By Padstowbabe

Laggan dam

Today was a good day!

First thing I called in to see the calf with the bad leg. He is now walking on it correctly and only reverts back to knuckling over a wee bit when resting. Fantastic! The physio (walking in the field) has done the trick and I think he is going to be fine now. I will have to call in and see him now and again or I will get withdrawal symptoms!!!!

On the way back from Kingussie I stopped to take this at Laggan Dam. It is 700 feet long and rises 170 feet above its foundations. It is part of our local Hydro Electric Scheme and has been there since 1934. The water travels to Fort William via a 3 mile tunnel and then a 15 mile pipe.

The water levels are very low at the moment.....unusual for the North West Highlands. I might go back when levels are high and it is spraying up water because then it is fairly spectacular to see!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.