Life through the lens...

By ValC

Red Hot Autumn

Our Red Hot Pokers are one of the last flowers to appear in the garden.
They are tucked away in a sunny sheltered spot at the back of the border, and suddenly seem to shoot up when it gets to Autumn.

I have put a photo of the whole flower on my extras.

Botanical name is " Kniphofia".
Mainly from South Africa, and named after Johann Hieronymus Kniphor ,
( 1704 - 1763)
who produced a folio on them.

I think they are a bit like Marmite, you either love them or hate them.
These were bought for MrC who loves them, and I must say I like them too, in amongst the other perennial flowers. Nice to have something new flowering at this time of year.

It has been a lovely sunny Autumn day.
Another week flown by, and Flower Friday again.
Hope you all have a good weekend. The weather seems set to be fine for once!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.