an old cynic's view

By superhero

Our local hero

This is Jim Hilliard, he is almost 87 and has worked tirelessly for our Parkinsons group for 20 odd years.His wife suffered with the illness until she sadly passed away over 20 years ago.Jim being the man he is kept  fundraising for our right up to the present day, I had a chat with him today and asked "why do you keep going is it not time you had some relaxation" His answer didn't surprise me "I have plenty relaxation, I play bowls every day and my spare time is parkinson's"
He is an unsung hero, when we have can collection days etc. he is there with 2 cans all day. He always has a smile on his face.
This story melts your heart, and the next time you see a so called celebrity on the news telling you she /he is collecting for charity,they usually do for self publicity, shallow people who have an agenda, will get something out it for their  miserable lives
 . Think of Jimmy Two cans. There are many others who help for free. I will 
keep them for another day
Raise a glass to this great wee guy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.