WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Sortie de véhicules

With difficulty.

Yesterday evening we went to the Ciné Club to see Leviathan, a Russian film that is two and a half hours long. I rarely find anything longer than 90 minutes justified, but despite its length I wasn't bored. On the other hand when I came out I was very glad I don't live in Russia. It was really depressing -- the ultimate message was "Resistance is futile." Alternatively and more prosaically, "Don't make decisions when you are off your head on vodka" (which most of the characters were, most of the time). The message was hammered home a bit too hard.

On the other hand, the bleak outdoor scenes were beautifully shot, and the acting was excellent -- really believable characters. The corrupt mayor was particularly well played. I wanted  a bolt of lightning to shoot out of the sky and strike him dead when he came out of the church at the end, but sadly that didn't happen. Not sure I would recommend it, but on reflection it was better than I thought it was last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.