Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

And this gives life to thee...

Hard to describe the day.

Such sadness at the death of one of my mentors and one of the finest people I've ever met, Sandy Watson. I'll save my words of remembrance and celebration of his life for another day. But the tears flowed this morning as I travelled back from London - unstoppable and overwhelming, wishing it wasn't so. Too soon Sandy. Too soon.

But then straight to Callander for the kick off session of an amazing new group of young people looking at Scotland's Biodiversity Strategy - basically how nature and people can live in balanced harmony. What an inspiring group of diverse young people - I'm so excited for all they will achieve.

And I sat with them, talking about the project, knowing that this was why Sandy was a public servant of such calibre and commitment - to give people a voice, a place at the table in decision making. He blazed a trail for youth involvement in this way wherever he went, right to the highest levels of office. His belief in young people and what they could achieve in improving their communities was inspirational.

He would have loved today. Loved it. Loved meeting the young people's and their energy. Loved what they were doing - he was so passionate about Scotland's landscapes. Loved that our work was creating these kind of opportunities.

I'm so thankful and grateful to have known him - and for all that he taught me. His lessons writ large today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.