Here we go again (again)

By kevmersh

The future's orange

I need to start off with a confession, I didn't take this photo today - I took it 2 years ago. But hear me out.

The young lad in the (dirty) orange vest is Rory Skinner. At the time he was only 11 years old, and he'd just fallen off his motorcycle in the Scottish 125 championship, taking the rider in black off in the process.

Today, he qualified on pole position and set a new lap record in the Red Bull Rookies championship at Aragon in Spain. 

Now unless, like me, you're a bit of bike racing geek, that won't mean much to you. "Red Bull what"? you're probably thinking. 

Well, Red Bull Rookies is a Spanish academy racing series for some of the most promising talent in motorcycle racing. The last 2 MotoGP world champions started off in this series. Bike racing is huge in Spain, and just making it into the series is a big deal. 

Nothing is guaranteed in sport, especially not this sport. But this kid just took a big step on the long road to the top. Maybe, just maybe, there's a future world champ in this picture. So I hope nobody minds me bending the rules just this once.

Did I mention he's still only 13?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.