Encounters with a Red Admiral.

I was collecting fallen apples when I saw a colourful butterfly sitting on one of them.  This looked like an ideal juxtaposition for a Blipfoto, so went indoors to fetch my camera.  The butterfly was still there, but as I approached fairly close it flew away.  A couple of minutes later it reappeared right under my nose, sitting by the pocket of the gardening jacket which I was wearing.  It was posing beautifully, wings wide open, but of course the one thing I couldn't do was to photograph it.

Anyway, it flew off and looked for somewhere else to land; it had taken a liking to this particular area of the garden, and decided to perch on the branch of a lichen-encrusted quince tree.

It went into "camouflage mode" by closing its wings, and could have been mistaken for a dead leaf; on a closer look, I found that its underwings mimic lichen, albeit a rather darker lichen than appears here.

When the sun came out, it quickly opened its wings, laid (or rather, ejected) two eggs and flew away.

I had taken several photos,and in the end decided on this image rather than one of the more brightly colourful ones.  In dull light you would not notice this at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.