Banana Village

Woke up in Uganda on my flight from London to Entebbe. Soon I was waiting in line to pay my $50 for my Ugandan entry visa. Brian Arimpa was there, smiling, when I walked into the airport. What a sight. Met my fellow traveler, Jessica, who would be working with MHI as well. She had some flight fiascos of her own, too.

We made it to the Banana Village in Entebbe after battling traffic for an hour or so because a Petrol truck had crashed into two cars and killed seven people. There was a huge mob of people as we passed by the accident scene. Apparently the mobs of people tend to pull drivers out of their cars and beat them to death. Especially Mzungus (white people). Note to self: do not stop if we crash into someone else on the road.

Jessica and I were meeting Norma at Banana Village later in the afternoon.

As Jessica slept in the morning, I took tea in the dining room by myself. As the sun shone and the breeze circled around me, I realized that in this moment, I was finally able to relax. For the first time in months, there was nothing I needed to do, nothing weighing on me, nothing to finish, nothing to start. I could just be in this moment and nowhere else.

What a wonderful feeling.

I have arrived. I am here.

I did take one too many naps today, however. As I went to sleep around 9pm... I woke up in the middle of the night. I looked at my watch and thought it was 4:30am.. I could wait a while longer before I got up to go to the bathroom since we were to get up at 5:30 to catch our missionary flight to Kajo-Keji, South Sudan. So I lied there for about 30 minutes... thinking.. restless. I got my flashlight out and checked my watch: 11:30PM. Oh crap.

I took a hydrocodone and tried to keep sleeping; it worked beautifully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.