Fun With French Clocks

Late last week, I placed an absentee bid on a beautiful antique French bronze cartel clock that was on the block at a local auction house.  On Tuesday, I received an e-mail from them telling me I was the lucky new owner, so off I drove to pick up my spoils.

I was amazed how heavy the clock is!  It must weigh at least 30 pounds, and there was no obvious way to hang it on a wall -- just some recessed slots on the back.  It's been sitting in a large box, swathed in newspaper and bubble wrap all week, but today, the amazing Mr. W tackled the challenge of hanging our new timepiece on the dining room wall in such a way that it would not come crashing down and kill some hapless soul.  After a couple of trips to the hardware store to purchase various seriously big bolts and high-tech toggling screws, here is the finished result.  How clever he is!

(Extra shots are of the Supermoon rising over Bridgewater this evening)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.