Age of Aquarius

Back in the 1960s and 1970s Nimbin was the place you came for the alternative lifestyle. Think super long hair decorated with flowers, great huge beards, wispy clothing, subsistence vegetarian diets, incense, beads, mud and grass mat floor bamboo huts .... oh ... and Indian hemp. Peace man!

Sadly the idealistic notions of back then have all gotten a bit jaded. The hippies sort of get around in BMWs these days. The town and its environs certainly look a great deal neater, cleaner and more conventionally prosperous. Tourists arrive to meet the day dreams of their youth ... and are greeted by a blaze of super colourful shops and stalls where one can buy authentic (made-in-China) trinkets, soaps, leather goods, pottery, candles and "village" product of every kind.

To be fair, some of the product IS locally produced and actually the place DOES looks great ... if you make a few allowances. I have included some extra images for atmosphere. 

Sorry about yesterday. I have been run off my feet since I returned from my exploits. Today at last I shall be able to come visiting  journals again. I am looking forward to seeing what everyone's been doing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.