Past its best

A cousin turned up recently with this very worn, framed photograph of our grandfather. The cousin was shifting house and thought I might like to have this. He said blithely "the frame is good". Well the frame has to be over a 100 years old and full of borer holes.
It has been sitting in the garage waiting for a decision. Each time I go out there I see grandfathers portrait glowing. That is what I have tried to convey here.
As a genealogist I must say his name in case any of you know anything about him although there are few mysteries about him.
Frederick Orton Hamilton was born in Greymouth, New Zealand in 1873 to an American/Scots father and an English mother. Orton was her maiden name and she came as widow Fowler from Bermondsey,London.
Jane Sarah died after giving birth to her fifth child and her husband Francis William remarried to an Irish milliner and went on to have a total of 14 children.I wouldn't mind learning more about Jane Sarah.
Just as well he did ok as a merchant to feed and clothe them all. His son continued the business and also did very well for himself.FOH as he became known married the daughter of a Maori woman and an Englishman.Their son is my father.
So you see we are a league of nations here in NZ.
Thanks to chantler for giving me an easy topic for a change.:-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.