A Lunar Eclipse

There I was at 3:15 this morning, outside in my baffies and nightie, sheltering in the lee of the house, trying to melt into the darkness lest any passer by should espy me.

The full moon three quarters covered by the shadow of the earth was hanging above the trees as I watched the shadow growing ever larger.
There were dark forms outlined on the grass over the railings and a murmur of voices with occasional laughter. I was not the only mad person staying awake to see the eclipse.

Being too lazy and hampered by the darkness to have the tripod and big camera assembled, I was relying on my hand held digital camera tilted and steadied by the Complete Guide to Needlework to try and get some image of the phenomenon which I am unlikely to see again in my life time.

This somewhat inadequate blip is the best I could do. By the time the shadow was total, the moon had escaped behind the trees, but while I had it in my sights it was undoubtedly red, but disappointedly small. It was a poor little thing compared to the expected images shown on TV, and the limited magnification on my camera has not enhanced it.

I expect there will be a clutch of bigger redder images posted on Blipfoto, but this is mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.