Past or Passed?

I passed some exams in the past...

Students who confuse words in this confusing language of ours seem to have trouble with past and passed so I thought I would take advantage of Monomonday Past to make sure that everyone understands the difference:

These exam certificates are very old and they are from the dim and distant past when I still had the wherewithal and/or enthusiasm to work towards qualifications and take the exams.  This all happened in my past.  They are part of my history.

Fortunately, I managed to prove to the examiner that I was reasonably competent so I passed the exams.  I achieved the standard to pass my Joint Matricualtion board o' levels (Shows how long in the past that was!), my Pitman's and RSA Typewriting (!!! does anyone do typewriting now? - a skill from the past)  and my City and Guilds in Spectator Control which I passed when I worked as a Matchday steward at Aston Villa a few years ago in the past...

Hope that's all sorted for you now.  I passed in the past.

This is my Monomonday Blip!  Thank you Chantler63 and B4YUU.

My extra is the best of my lunar eclipse shots - just for the record as part of my past...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.