Wednesday 28th September 1960

I was over in the west today, visiting my parents, whose 55th or Emerald Wedding Anniversary it was today. Here's what else was going on 55 years ago today:

The US president was Dwight D. Eisenhower (Republican) and the U.K. Prime Minister was Harold MacMillan (Conservative). In that special week of September people in US were listening to My Heart Has A Mind Of Its Own by Connie Francis. In UK Apache by The Shadows was in the top 5 hits. Let's Make Love, directed by George Cukor, was one of the most viewed movies released in 1960 .

Top #5 songs in the UK

1. The Shadows - Apache
2. Elvis Presley - Mess Of Blues
3. Duane Eddy - Because They're Young
4. Cliff Richard - Please Don't Tease
5. Ricky Valance - Tell Laura I Love Her

Whizz forward 55 years and I hope everyone has had a good day, and enjoyed the continuing glorious Autumn weather,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.