Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Lunar Eclipse September 27 2015

Well I made it through another lunar eclipse, and what a fun night it was.  I spent most of the day trying to decide on where I was going to go.  Late in the afternoon my girlfriend called and asked me if I wanted company, but I still had no idea where!?  I finally decided at the last minute to head for the Bald Peak area out west of here near Gaston, Oregon. It sits at 1,629 feet above sea level and has a commanding view towards the east.  We didn't got to the actual scenic point, but stopped short of it next to a farmer's field as the view was perfect.  We were the second ones there, but within the hour the fairly roomy parking lot was filled with cars and enthusiasts. 

The sunset and moonrise happened simultaneously, but because of the haze over the city of Portland and Mt Hood, we couldn't see the moon until someone spotted it half into the sky about 7:25.  Here we were, all of these photographers, and no one saw it.  It was already into it's first phase, and slowly the light faded from the eastern sky and it became more visible.

As time went by, it got quite cold and breezy, but the moon became more and more beautiful...that beautiful red glow, the supermoon in all it's eclipsing glory!

More photos

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.