Moon substitute!

I got up at 3am last night and went outside, only to find that the moon, showing a white sliver, was descending into haze. I even walked through the garden to the viewpoint, but the whole of the western horizon was hazy and although I could see a faint yellow-ness, that was all I got, so I went back to bed. Unfortunately I didn't get to sleep again, so got up feeling tired and cross! At least the cats got an extra walk!

This plant has an awkward name - Schizostylis. Everybody pronounces it diffidently, but its common name, Kaffir Lily, is deemed to be politically incorrect, so call it what you will.

Schizostylis coccinea 'Mrs Hegarty' is just coming into flower now and a pretty sight it is. Something I've learnt is to plant it on the the side of the border where it will face the sun and lean out - this one is on the other side and leans away from the path.

We used to have a big collection of cultivars but one-by-one they've all disappeared, except for this one. The species survives in a few places. It's obviously not bone hardy, or maybe it's the dreaded 'winter wet' that gets them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.