Once Upon a Time

Once upon a time, children played with simple dolls like these, not Manipulative Barbie Dolls.  I read this article in yesterday's paper and I find the idea of that Barbie more than a bit disturbing!   A creepy concept indeed!  This morning I went to the local toy store, West of the Moon, and asked if it was okay to take some photos of dolls.  The young woman said sure then asked why I wanted to, so I told her about Manipulative Barbie, and she seemed a bit disturbed as well.  She asked me to mention the store in my post. 
Brave New World doesn’t seem so far off…although I hope that many children continue to play with these dolls and that parents and others refuse to buy that Barbie!
Getting a head start on this week’s challenge of Once Upon a Time. 

I also went to two excellent exhibitions,  photos by Seth Berkowitz and the finalists for the Salt Spring National Art Prize.  I had a very difficult time entering my vote for the winner of the prize.  Such creativity on display!
And I bought tickets for the spoken poet Shane Koyczan, who will perform here in October.  Looking forward to that!  An ad seems to appear in the link although it didn't when I found it on YouTube.  I think you can skip it quickly if you're interested in listening to him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.