What is it?

My grandson is looking for bugs for a biology class project, so we searched the garden. We saw this "tiny brown something" on a leave and wondered, "could it be an insect", such enough it moved forward. I took this photo and  N  scooped it up into a plastic bag. We found 5 more interesting little critters; now he is supposed to put the baggies in the freezer so the bugs "meet their normal fate of winter". Next he is to put cotton balls in the the little cups of an egg carton, then place a bug on top of each piece of cotton. He needs to find a dozen insects with 6 legs to bring to class.  You know why he came over here to collect them? Of course you do, he knew his grandma would love finding and photographing bugs!!! Bless his heart....he knows me well. I love that kid! Sweet 16 and still a big kid at heart.....he and I have always enjoyed nature together. I am so lucky!!!

Thanks for all the kind comments on the Sapsucker and his patterned holes, actually some of the holes were there before he arrived, he just continued the pattern.......appreciate the sprinkle of stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.