Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Too early!

Today I met my brother and sister in law for lunch at a hotel on the outskirts of town - handy for them. And my favourite - a carvery! It was most pleasant - we even sat outside in the sunshine! Which had the added bonus of no muzak (which was particularly awful).

Had a good catch up with them - we don't see each other enough, so we must make it more regular. I was there about 10 minutes before them, and for a while I wondered if indeed it was the correct day, having left them in the lurch last time.

Before I went to lunch, Archie and I had a wander down to the Meadows. What a day! Warm! Blue skies! It would have been very welcome in July... We went and sat around in the little patch of wildflowers again.

The new car is arriving tomorrow, and so the old car was cleaned out, then I popped down to get new parking permit, which necessitated handing in the old one, and paying for parking for the rest of the afternoon!

Wish I'd brought my camera, the Royal Mile was buzzing. There was an old collie/lab cross sitting with his master who was playing a guitar. The dog was holding a cap in his mouth for money. He was still there when I came out of the council offices, so I patted him (the dog) and gave him a couple of quid. Hmmm. Wonder if I could train Archie to do that...

I listened to an audio book from the library on the bus, but I kept losing track if I didn't concentrate! On the way back I listened to a TED Talk. Not impressed with the battery life of the new phone. Nowhere near the ten hours Apple claim.

J came to collect Archie while we were away and take him a huge big long walk with Bailey. In the evening she helped me with a couple of issues in setting up my phone... The main problem is wanting to keep my old number, which hasn't been done yet, and so GMail verifications can't be made, and so the calendar isn't syncing, etc etc. I will ring them tomorrow.

I popped in to a certain Garden Centre which was near the lunch venue, and was horrified to see that it's full of ... Christmas trees and tinsel and Santas and holly. Jings! That's tooooo early!!

Our own very early Christmas present arrives tomorrow - the new car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.