mcclure

By mcclure

baby orb weaver

So, there was some wind the other day, and the orb weaver's precarious hiding place blew away. I figured I would check for a new web in some nearby location. Sure enough, a few trees down, there were the remains of a large web. So I poked around cautiously looking for the sleeping spider in the oak leaves. I almost jumped out of my skin when my old friend Mr. Wheelbug was there. When I didn't find a spider, I started being very suspicious that perhaps he stuck his nasty probuscus into the gentle and non aggressive Orb Weaver and swallowed up her insides. I don't suppose I'll ever know for sure, but I think it's too much of a coincidence. I'll have to read up on the prey of wheelbugs. I know they like soft juicy caterpillars, but I don't know if they would go for such a big spider.
The only consolation is that very nearby, was a teeny tiny web with a teeny tiny baby orb weaver sitting right in it. You can't see the web, because the light wasn't right, but it's there.
And the extra photo is the culpret, looking a little too smug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.