My new friend

I left Balclutha about 11 this morning.  It has been a beautiful day weatherwise.  The van doesn't have real air-con, just a really noisy fan, so I've driven most of the day with the windows open.  

I couldn't resist going back to check on the bird life at Moeraki.  My new friend here loved posing for me, and had a lot to say about it - see my extras.

The other extra is from when I stopped (yet again) at Blaze's cross.  This time I went prepared with coffee and white paint to repair the marks we made when we put it up originally.  I've been meaning to do that for 18 months now, so it's great to have achieved it.

Today's irony:  As I pulled off the road opposite the cross my phone rang.  It was the IRD ringing about Blaze's estate settlement.  I sent them a form over eighteen months ago to finalise any taxes owing.  Today they called to say that my signature on the form hadn't  been witnessed, so they've not actioned it.  Eighteen months later they tell me this!!!  I had to laugh.  I told Blaze all about it - I'm sure he was laughing (or swearing loudly) too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.