The hot summer drags on

Yesterday, Radio Orkney trailed the fact that I was giving an ‘illustrated talk’ to the Stromness Women’s Guild during the evening.  Ticketmaster was in melt down within seconds and traffic was backing up to the Finstown Flyover.  The talk got under way.  Whilst the talk was going on the Current Mrs Creel was travelling up on the ferry from Aberdeen.

In the vote of thanks the Ladies seemed pleased.  I was pleased too as it was the first time I’d managed to get the tassels to go in different directions during my performance.  They were also amazed there was no safety net.  However after the talk the Ladies disappeared through Hamnavoe and I was left with Myrtle who locked the Kirk Hall.  As we walked along one of the Stromness narrow passages I went my length over a coal bunker.  When I got home I found I was bruised all down my right leg and my left hand was gashed, with other minor scrapes.  CMC arrived home off the boat just before midnight. 

On seeing my bruising she failed to believe I had sustained the injuries whilst giving a talk to the Stromness ladies.  All I could say was that the talk wasn’t appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.