Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Mr. Grasshopper

I wandered out to the garden this afternoon in search of:

1. Arugula
2. Tomato
3. A blip

I had started picking arugula when I saw a leaf move. Looking closer I saw a grasshopper. He evidently didn't want to stay where I was so he hopped up onto the fence. I kept sticking a camera in his face, and he eventually tried to climb thru the fence, but proved too wide to do so and backed out again. Finally I took pity on him and moved him [yes! I grabbed him with my hand!] to the other side of the fence. He seemed grateful. The first extra is a photo of his tummy once he was on the other side of the fence, happily attached to a tall weed.

The second extra is a bit of Wednesday Whimsy. I saw a [the?] tattered Great Spangled Fritillary on the Buddleia and walked closer to try to get a better shot. Seeing me, it of course took off. But instead of flying away it flew directly towards me and landed ON MY HEAD!! As I had my iPhone in my pocket, I took a selfie. He sat there for quite some time. Long enough for me to call to The Husband and tell him to come out of his workshop and have a look. Magical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.