1000 Blips .... and counting!

Wow. 1000 Blips, without missing a day (don't dwell on the many near-midnight panics!).  Where has the time gone?  I suppose I can always look back over my 1000 blips to work this out.  

I have had 2 babies, a marriage, a nephew, a disastrous house extension, the arrival of some grey hair, a beer belly, and many other ups and downs since I made the spur of the moment decision on New Year's Day 2013 to see how many photos I could capture before I got fed up.  It's nearly 3 years later and I am still some way off getting fed up, or maybe Blipfoto has just fed my latent photography OCD?!

I am rarely seen without a camera these days, either the big boy vintage Canon 5 D Mk II (plus selection of lenses), a more pocket friendly Canon Powershot G12, or the every-ready iPhone.

I wish that I had the opportunity to take a few more photos during my childhood and during years gone by.  Many memories are fading as I reach my half century, the places where I have lived have changed beyond recognition, and too many friends are no longer with me.  My main reason, I suppose, is to keep a record for my kids of their early years.  The importance for this was probably reinforced when I discovered a very fractured record of my own childhood by scanning my dad's too-small collection of 35mm slides.  He isn't around for me to ask him to join the dots between the missing months/years in the archive ....

I had a bit of a play with the output from tonight's moon and the earlier walk with my 3 youngest kids: 2 on bicycle and 1 in a buggy.  The teenager is living it up in Leeds during freshers week - only seems like yesterday since I was doing the same!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.